fbpx

News

Check out these free Green Jobs events and networking opportunities!

April 30, 2021

These free virtual Green Jobs events hosted by Project Learning Tree Canada (PLT Canada), the Sustainable Forestry Initiative (SFI), and the North American Invasive Species Forum will help you build your skills, knowledge, and network!

Go to:


Starting Off Strong in Your New Green Job logo

May 6, 2021: PLT Canada’s “Starting Off Strong in Your New Green Job” Online Talk

Starting a new job can be exciting, but also a little intimidating! You can influence how your employer and coworkers perceive you in the first couple of weeks and months. But how can you best display your skills and ace the trial period? Join our online talk to network, build skills, and gain knowledge. Learn more about “Starting Off Strong in Your New Green Job” here.

Sign up for your free ticket

What: An online talk with PLT Canada Green Mentors (forest, conservation, and parks professionals) to teach young people how to start a new job on the right foot. A time to network, build skills to increase youth employability, and gain insider knowledge on making a good impression.

When: Thursday, May 6, 2021

12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. PDT/MST
1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. CST/MDT
2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. CDT
4:30 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. NDT
3:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. EDT
4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. ADT

Where: Zoom

Sign up for your free ticket


SFI Annual Conference: Better Choices for the Planet logo

May 12–14, 2021: The 2021 Virtual SFI Annual Conference

Register for the Sustainable Forestry Initiative’s Annual Conference and listen to forest sector experts discussing topics ranging from urban forestry to building diverse and resilient workforces to conservation and climate change. We are offering young people (up to 30 years of age) free tickets (a $150 value)! Learn more about the conference here.

Sign up for your free ticket

What: A three-day conference with sessions focused on forest solutions to many of the most important sustainability challenges we face in the sector and in our communities.

When: May 12–14, 2021

8:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. PDT/MST
9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. CST/MDT
10:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m. CDT
11:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. EDT
12:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. ADT
12:30 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. NDT

Where: Zoom

Sign up for your free ticket


North American Invasive Species Forum logo

May 18–20, 2021: The 2021 North American Invasive Species Forum

We’re partnering up with the Canadian Council of Invasive Species (CCIS) to give away 30 free tickets to youth (aged 15-30) who are interested in attending the 2021 North America Invasive Species Forum on May 18-20, 2021. The tickets are on a first-come, first-served basis.​ Learn more about the forum here.

Sign up for your free ticket

What: A three-day international event with the international invasive species community to learn more about the new research, emerging issues, success stories, and prevention and response initiatives from across Canada, Mexico, and the U.S. 

When: May 18–20, 2021

8:00 a.m. – 1:15 p.m. PDT/MST
9:00 a.m. – 2:15 p.m. CST/MDT
10:00 a.m. – 3:15 p.m. CDT
11:00 a.m. – 4:15 p.m. EDT
12:00 p.m. – 5:15 p.m. ADT
12:30 p.m. – 5:45 p.m. NDT

Where: Pheedloop Platform

Sign up for your free ticket

RELATED NEWS

Shuya Huang sits in a field of flowers

Struggles & Successes: Landing a Green Job as a newcomer to Canada

By Shuya Huang Canada plans to welcome over 300,000 new immigrants every year. But in 2020, about 13.5% of Canadian newcomers (people who have been in Canada for less than five years) were unemployed. And this number doesn’t capture the many newcomers who are underemployed (not working enough hours or…

READ MORE

Two youth in hard hats holding baby trees.

PLT Canada’s Green Mentor program celebrates end of January 2021 national cohort

PLT Canada wrapped up its second national mentorship cohort on June 24, 2021, with an online event that brought together almost 50 mentors and mentees from across the country. The six-month mentorship program supported 130 participants, including mentors from the Sustainable Forestry Initiative’s (SFI) network and young people interested in…

READ MORE

Natural Resources Minister Seamus O’Regan (left) announced the Science and Technology Internship Program during an online press conference on June 30 with Minister Bardish Chagger, Diversity, Inclusion and Youth (top right), and Kathy Abusow, PLT Canada President and CEO (bottom right), in addition to other delivery organizations.

Government of Canada announces funding for internships in the forest and conservation sector

Project Learning Tree Canada (PLT Canada) is proud to help young Canadians gain the skills and experience they need to succeed in today’s innovative green jobs, thanks to recently announced funding from Natural Resources Canada’s Science and Technology Internship Program (STIP).  As part of this initiative, PLT Canada will provide…

READ MORE

Headshots of Lacey Rose and Julie Antler

Pay it forward: pass on knowledge to future forestry leaders as a Green Mentor

By Lacey Rose, County Forester, County of Renfrew When I started out in forestry, I was very lucky to be supported by kind and experienced co-workers. The demographic of our sector means that I’ve often been the youngest one by more than 20 years, so I feel very fortunate to…

READ MORE

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER